WHAT A LITTLE GEM

IMG_1174Tucked away between two imposing buildings in Pitt Street in up-town Sydney is the The Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (SMSA).  I doubt many Sydney-siders even know this little gem of a place exists. But before you jump to the conclusion I had enrolled in a class on how to tune my car, I should tell you the Sydney Mechanics School of Arts is Australia’s oldest lending library (opened in 1833) and home to the Tom Keneally Centre which houses the research collection of the world-renowned author, Thomas Keneally (Schindler’s List). The room is cosy and inviting and reflects the look and feel of Keneally’s original library.IMG_1180

You are probably wondering as I did, the history of the library’s origins and why the word “Mechanics” features in its name. The SMSA was founded in an adult education movement which originated in Scotland in the 1820s. It quickly spread throughout the English-speaking world. “Mechanics,” was used in this context, as a reference to people working in technical trades or as artisans. There was a belief at the time that society would benefit from a better-educated working class. The movement eventually evolved to include middle-class professionals, merchants, shopkeepers, clerks and office workers and provided a means of recreation for their members.

Now, to return to the reason why I was in the Tom Keneally Centre. I was invited by Kerry, a writing buddy of mine, to attend a talk by Australian mystery and crime writer, B Michael Radburn. I had just finished reading his first novel, The Crossing, a gripping tale of redemption set in the Tasmanian wilderness, so I jumped at the opportunity to hear him speak. I was not disappointed. Radburn was an engaging speaker and a loveable character who began writing in response to a troubled childhood.

Apart from his successful writing career, Radburn is also a talented musician. I knew we were in for a treat when he sat down on the sofa and began strumming his guitar. He explained to the audience how slowing down the pace of the lyrics of a song can take on a completely different feel and meaning.  He cited Janis Joplin’s song, “Me and Billy McGee” as an example. Radburn’s rendition was a slow lament, calling up memories of past lives and lost loves. I hope nobody noticed that rogue tear that trickled down my cheek during his performance.

As writers we all know pace is a crucial component of fiction writing. It controls the speed and rhythm of the story. To deliver drama the pace speeds up, to express emotion, the pace slows. If you read the following lines to “Me and Billy McGee” slowly, Radburn’s point about pace becomes obvious.

“Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose,
Nothing, that’s all that Bobby left me, yeah,
But feeling good was easy, Lord, when he sang the blues,
Hey, feeling good was good enough for me, hmm hmm,
Good enough for me and my Bobby McGee.”

What did I take away with me from B Michael Radburn’s talk? Writers write for all sorts of reasons but mainly because they need to.

This entry was posted in Crime Writers, Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WHAT A LITTLE GEM

  1. Unfurling says:

    I liked the way you approached the importance of pace in our writing through the medium of song lyrics and music Gina. It reminds me of testing a draft by reading aloud which I have found so useful for testing pace at the micro-level of dialogue for example. Radburn’s musical performance must have been a bonus.
    I had no idea about the SMSA and although not a Sydney-sider I found it interesting. Keneally is such a literary giant and to have his library accessible to the public is wonderful.

    Keep these posts coming – so inspiring!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. gina amos says:

    Thanks for your comment, Robyn. One of the things I like about being a writer is you are always on a journey of discovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erik says:

    It’s shocking to me how many writers don’t really understand how to control pacing. I’ve read famous writers who took three pages describing in detail a careening truck taking a corner and almost killing someone. The person on the corner notices little details of the truck, right down to the gleam in the eye of the pirate on the logo on the side of the truck!

    Musically, I always reference Whitney singing “I Will Always Love You” (which was written and originally performed by Dolly Parton). Both did a great job, but the pacing difference makes it a completely different song when these two greats each sing it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. BunKaryudo says:

    It looks like a little gem indeed!

    Incidentally, I just thought I’d mention that my own version of “Me and Bobby McGee” (a classic three chord guitar song) has often driven listeners to tears, if not open third floor windows.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.